2 former Seahawks among 15 Pro Football Hall of Fame finalists


He made the Pro Bowl in each of his last seasons with the Jags, was a three time first-team All-Pro (1997-99) and was named to the All-Decade team for the 90s.

The 48-member Hall of Fame board of selectors will meet on the eve of Super Bowl 54 in Miami to elect the five modern-era inductees who will join 15 additional individuals chosen by a blue-ribbon panel as part of the NFL's centennial enshrinement class. Atwater and Hutchinson have each been a finalist three times.

The Pro Football Hall of Fame just released the 2020 Finalist list. which includes stars like Troy Polamalu, Edgerrin James, Zach Thomas, John Lynch, Torry Holt, Reggie Wayne, LeRoy Butler, Steve Atwater, Richard Seymour, Bryant Young, Alan Faneca, Tony Boselli, Steve Hutchinson and Sam Mills.

Polamalu played 12 seasons with the Steelers and was named to eight Pro Bowls; Wayne was named to six Pro Bowls in 14 seasons.

One player who was not named a finalist in his first year of eligibility was linebacker Patrick Willis.

The story of the "Star Wars" dark sword, explained
The new toys based on "The Child" often won't be hitting stores until May of 2020, which is still months away. The history of the weapon is that it belonged to a Mandalorian Jedi named Tarre Vizsla.

Since 1970, more than 89 percent of all Pro Football Hall of Fame finalists have eventually been selected for induction, the PFHOF tweeted a year ago.

Faneca later went on to play two seasons with the Jets and one with the Cardinals.

Willis' Hall of Fame case is pretty rock solid despite his relatively short career.

Former 49ers running back Roger Craig is one of 20 finalists for 10 spots to be made available for players whose playing careers ended at least 25 years ago. That is a special selection in celebration of the NFL's 100th season.

Cowher's resume' probably isn't quite strong enough to get in with this group, but perhaps he'll make it someday.